Coons faces 3 on May ballot

-A A +A

Burrows files bid to run against Stevens for J-E

By Phyllis McLaughlin

The Trimble Banner

Several Trimble County races this year may be hotly contested. The sheriff’s race has a slate of four candidates, including incumbent Tim Coons, and incumbents in the races for jailer, judge-executive and magistrates in all four districts will face challengers on May 18.

The following is a list of all Democratic candidates for 2010 who filed by the Jan. 26 deadline in the county clerk’s office, along with the offices they are seeking.

Sheriff: Incumbent Tim Coons, 50, has three challengers: Richey Dunlap, 44, of Milton; Paul Poe, 62, of Bedford; and Chip Perry, 47, also of Bedford.

Jailer: Incumbent Bobby Glenn Temple, 52, of Bedford is being challeged by Michael L. Stewart, 48, of Milton.

Judge-executive: Incumbent Randy Stevens, 42, has been challeged by fellow Democrat Scott Burrows, 58, who has a Pendleton address but is a Trimble County resident.

Magistrate, District 1: Incumbent Nolan Hamilton Jr., 71, Milton, is being challenged by Chris Liter, 43, of Milton.

Magistrate, District 2: Incumbent Kirby Melvin, 50, of Bedford has two challengers: Elizabeth “Betty” Bray, 70, and Kerry Callis, 40, both of Bedford.

Magistrate, District 3: Incumbent David Scott, 50, of Bedford, also has two challengers: Debbie Crawford, 50, of Milton and former magistrate Norvel Barnes, 65, also of Milton.

Magistrate, District 4: Incumbent Stephen Stark, 43, of Bedford is being challenged by Don McCarty, 61, also of Bedford.

Several incumbents are running for re-election unopposed:

Property Tax Valuation: Jill Hudson Mahoney, 39, Milton

Coroner: Frederica Ransdell Congleton, 39, Bedford

County Clerk: Jerry L. Powell, 62, Bedford Constable, District 1: Tom Persell, 62, Milton Constable, District 3: Craig Lacefield, 40, Bedford.

The only race in which an incumbent is not running for re-election is for Constable, District 2, for which Mike Wright, 56, of Bedford has filed.

There were no candidates filed for the District 4 constable.

County Attorney Perry R. Arnold also is running unopposed for re-election. However, because he is a Republican, his name won’t be on the ballot until the General Election on Tuesday, Nov. 2.

No candidates have filed for Bedford mayor or city commission or for Milton mayor or city commission. These races are nonpartisan, and therefore will not be on the ballot until Nov. 2.


General Assembly

Senator, 26th District: Republican Incumbent Ernie Harris of Crestwood faces two challengers for the seat he’s held for four terms: Democrat John W. Black and Republican Don Godfrey, both of La Grange.

Black will be on the May ballot for the Democratic nomination.

 Representative, 47th District: Only two candidates are vying for this seat: incumbent Democrat Rick Rand of Bedford and his Republican challenger Theodore Broecker of La Grange. Because they are from separate parties, neither will appear on the May Primary ballot. They will square off for the seat in November. U.S. Congress

Senate: Eleven candidates have filed as candidates to fill the U.S. Senate seat, now held by Jim Bunning, who announced in December that he would not run for re-election.

Candidates seeking the Republican nomination for Bunning’s seat are: C.M. “Trey” Grayson of Fort Mitchell, currently Kentucky’s secretary of state; Bill Johnson of Elkton; Gurley L. Martin, Owensboro; Rand Paul, Bowling Green; Jon J. Scribner, Gray; and John Stephenson, also of Fort Mitchell.

Democrats vying for nomination for the Senate seat are: James Buckmaster of Henderson; Jack Conway, Louisville, currently Kentucky’s treasurer; Lt. Gov. Daniel Mongiardo, Hazard; Darlene F. Price, Whitley City; and Maurice M. Sweeney, Louisville.

House of Representatives: Only two candidates have filed to represent Kentucky’s 4th Congressional District, one from each party: Incumbent Republican Geoff Davis of Fort Mitchell and Democratic challenger John Waltz of Florence.

Because they are from separate parties, neither will appear on the May Primary ballot. They will face off against each other in the Nov. 4 General Election.