-A A +A

CCHS grads named to deans list, updates

McClellen named 
to UNO dean’s list

Cameron S. McClellen of Carrollton, Ky. has made the dean’s list for the January 2011 session in the College of Technologies at the University of Northwestern Ohio. Full-time students must receive a grade point average of 3.5 or better to be named to the Dean’s List.

Will Yager named to Georgetown dean’s list

Freshman William “Will” Carroll Yager of Carrollton was named to the Dean’s List for the 2010 fall semester at Georgetown College. The dean’s list honors undergraduate students who completed the semester with at least 12 hours and a 3.7 grade point average.
Yager is the son of Carroll and Rita Yager of Carrollton.
At Georgetown College, Yager is a member of the junior varsity basketball squad and was recently chosen for a new program – Male Eight, a mentorship program sponsored by Ale-8-1.

Stoops named to fall dean’s list at NKU

Christin Stoops has attained a 3.6 grade point average, putting her on the Northern Kentucky University dean’s list for the 2010 fall semester. Christin is the daughter of Arthur and Denia Stoops of Carrollton.

Angela Stethen named
to Western dean’s list

Angela Stethen has achieved the designation of dean’s scholar at Western Kentucky University for the fall 2010 semester. This honor is given to students who earn a grade point average ranging from 3.4 to 3.79.
Stethen is a 2008 Trimble County graduate and is in her junior year at WKU majoring in psychology. She is the daughter of Michael and Donna Stethen of Bedford and the granddaughter of Elizabeth Middleton of Claymont, Del. and James and Mary Stethen of Bedford.

Carroll County Schools receive
two grants
to improve technology

Technology at Carroll County schools will improve thanks to two recently received grants.
Superintendent Lisa James announced at the Board of Education meeting on Feb. 24 that the district received two grants, one federal grant for $481,000 and another for an undisclosed amount for on-bus Wi-Fi.
James credited district technology coordinator Cindy Johann’s hard work in collecting data from the schools for enabling the district to receive the $481,000 E-rate grant. James said while it is a hardware grant, money can be shifted from that area in the budget to buy new computers.
The Wi-Fi grant, from Northern Kentucky University, will enable two Carroll County school buses to be outfitted with wireless Internet. “Those buses haven’t been chosen as of yet, but we’re really excited about this opportunity as we move forward in technology,” James said. “As you well know, we want to get our whole community connected, but this is a start.”

Employee pay schedule
to remain the same

Superintendent Lisa James announced that Carroll County School System employees will continue to be paid 26 times per year, keeping the pay schedule the same. She explained to the board members that after chief financial officer Jon Conrad spoke with some of the employees, he received mostly negative reactions to restructuring the pay cycle.
“At the end of that first day, we found we had a lot more opposing that change than those that were the ones concerned about the three week (pay cycle) … so we have pulled that from the agenda and we will keep the cycle of payment the same as what we have had in the past,” she said.
The pay restructure was discussed at the previous Carroll County Board of Education meeting because as a result of paying 26 times a year, every fifth year employees must go an additional week between the last paycheck in June and the first paycheck in July.

Traffic light at CCHS entrance
to be installed this week

Superintendent Lisa James announced the traffic light at the intersection of the entrance to Carroll County High School and Schuerman Street on Hwy. 227 will be installed this week by the Kentucky Department of Transportation.
“The traffic light that we talked about, I don’t know if you’ve seen any markers out there, but the light is going up,” she said at last week’s Board of Education meeting.
James noted that the light currently at Hwy. 227 and Gillock Avenue will remain in place.

Construction continues at Cartmell, Winn

Ron Murrell, of the Lexington consulting firm Ross Tarrant Architects, informed board members things are moving ahead of schedule at Cartmell Elementary. It appears the administration building will be completed earlier than anticipated, and the gym will be ready in August, Superintendent Lisa James said. Murrell said workers poured concrete near the front entrance and the new parent drop-off loop and cleaned up some of the area around the front last week.
At Kathryn Winn Primary, the Carroll County Early Head Start building has broken ground. Preparations are being made to put in the foundation, and they are looking to begin pouring concrete this week, Murrell said.

High school students present STEM projects

Five Carroll County High School students presented their projects from the recent Science Technology Engineering and Math fair: Brad Osborne, Kassidy Perry, Derek Williams, Cassandra Southworth and Alexandra Skirvin.