Filing deadline Aug. 10 for fall races

-A A +A
By Kristen Snyder

Carroll County’s cities have 27 seats up for grabs for the Nov. 2 election.

The cities of Carrollton, Ghent, Prestonville, Sanders and Worthville each have an open seat for mayor. Carrollton has six city council seats open, while the cities of Ghent, Prestonville, Sanders and Worthville have four seats open for city commissions, according to deputy county clerk Patty Mefford.

Voters will also have several other races to decide this fall. Mefford said there are positions up for election on the soil and water conservation district board, as well as seats on the board of education in division four and five and constable for district two. Voters will also cast ballots in all of the races for county offices this fall, many of which saw competition in the spring Democratic primaries.

To register for city races, along with those for soil and conservation district and board of education, Mefford said the deadline to submit paperwork is Aug. 10.

In the city of Carrollton, incumbent mayor Dwight Louden and former county judge-executive Gene McMurry have registered to run for mayor. In Carrollton’s city council race, only incumbents Mike Gordon and Tammy Miller-McBurney have filed their documents, according to Mefford.

In the city of Ghent, incumbent mayor William Mumphrey has filed for re-election, while James Lewellyn and David Hendren, both incumbents, are seeking another term of office.

Vicki Burgin and Tommy Couch have registered to seek the mayor’s post in Prestonville. Current Prestonville city commissioners Robert Dixon, William Martin and Wilk Hoskins have registered for Prestonville’s four city council seats.

Currently, Mefford said no one has registered for any of the positions in Sanders or Worthville.

In the county races, only a couple of individuals have filed, Mefford said.

With three seats up for election on the soil and water conservation district board, two have filed — incumbents Joe Raisor and David Rowlett.

In the races for school division four and five, which are currently held by Carolyn Jones and Mary Ann Pearson respectively, no one is currently registered, Mefford said.

The deadline is quickly approaching to register to be on the ballot for county and city seats so if you are interested in registering go to the Carroll County courthouse and pick up a nomination petition packet.

In other county races, which were part of the spring primaries, write-in candidates have until Oct. 22 to register to seek one of the positions, which include judge-executive, magistrate, sheriff, coroner and constable.

Incumbent Glenn Chatham is registered as a write-in for the constable of district two, Mefford explained. Chatham lost the race for the Democratic nomination for his seat to David Miles.