KCTCS recognized Carrollton benefactors at Gala

-A A +A

Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) President Michael B. McCall, along with Jefferson Community and Technical College (JCTC) President Anthony Newberry, recognized the generous contributions from Carrollton residents at the 12th Annual President’s Gala and Benefactors Awards Dinner.


 The Carroll County Fiscal Court, Carrollton College Educational Foundation, Inc., and North American Stainless were all honored at the gala for donating $100,000 each towards the new JCTC Carrollton Campus. 

 Benefactor Awards were presented to JCTC Board of Directors Chair Dennis Goff, representing the Carroll County Education Foundation, Carroll County Fiscal Court represented by County-Judge Executive Harold “Shorty” Tomlinson, and Mary Jean Riley, Vice President of Administration for North American Stainless.

 These generous donations were used for the purchase of 25 acres of property across from General Butler State Park that has been set aside for a new JCTC Carrollton Campus, which is waiting funding by the Kentucky General Assembly.

 The Rotary Club of Louisville was also honored for the Louisville Rotary Promise Scholarship. The funds raised will be used to provide two-year college scholarships to all qualifying students from at-risk Louisville high schools. 

 This year’s President’s Gala took place at Lexington Convention Center on Saturday November 19, 2011. The event drew more than 600 state and local dignitaries throughout Kentucky to honor an impressive list of the state’s leading individuals, businesses, and foundations for their voluntary support of KCTCS colleges.