School district to recognize board of education members

-A A +A

January is School Board Member Recognition Month in Kentucky, but Lisa James, superintendent of Carroll County Schools, believes our local members deserve recognition throughout the year for going above and beyond the requirements of their job.

“School board members do a lot more than attend meetings once or twice a month,” said James.  “They’ve read to students in the schools, served hotdogs for back-to-school events, worked on numerous school and district committees, and one has even volunteered to direct musical theater productions.”

Chairwoman Jennifer Beach, Vice-chair Carolyn Jones, Tommy Unker, Mona Kindoll, and Mary Ann Pearson are true champions for the students of Carroll County, said James, ensuring that resources are used to maximize student achievement.

Beach, who was re-elected as chairperson for 2011, has served on the board of education since November 2007; Jones, the new vice-chair, has served since June of 2010.  Unker began service in September of 2004; Kindoll took office in January 2005, and Pearson began in November 2008.

 “Our board members, administrators, teachers, and staff members work well as a team to improve student achievement,” said James.  “They also make sure that the budget is used in a way to have the greatest impact on student learning.”
The Carroll County Board of Education is responsible for oversight of a $21 million annual budget that funds everything from buildings and buses to computers and salaries. They also receive between eight and 12 hours each year of professional development.

James pointed out that Carroll County’s Board of Education was one of forty-four boards among 177 statewide (top 25 percent) to receive the Advancing Student Achievement to Proficiency (ASAP) Award in 2010 for completing all ten criteria for effective school boards in 2009.  For its work in 2010, the Carroll County Board of Education will once again receive the ASAP Award at the 75th Annual Kentucky School Boards Association Conference on Feb. 4-6 at the Galt House East in Louisville.

“We are very fortunate in Carroll County to have such committed school board members,” said James. “I hope that our citizens will join me and the staff of Carroll County Schools in recognizing these members for the many extra things that they do to benefit our children.”

The members of the Carroll County Board of Education will be recognized at a reception in their honor at the next regular board meeting on Jan. 20 at Carroll County Middle School.

Jeff Fremin is director of public relations for Carroll County Public Schools.