Sewell, Dermon named to All-Conference team

-A A +A
By Kristin Beck

Carroll County High School freshmen cross country runners Wesley Sewell and Haley Dermon were named to the NCKC All-Conference team for their performance in the 5K run Tuesday, Oct. 1, at Trimble County. Sewell finished in eighth place for the boys with a time of 19:17.3. Dermon finished in fifth place for the girls with a time of 23:21.8.


Hunter Tenary of Owen County won the boys meet with a time of 16:41.1, while Walton-Verona won the boys team championship. Kylie Wilberding of Trimble County ran the course in 22:04 to win the girls meet. Trimble County also won the girls team championship.

Carroll County’s boys team finished in fourth out of five teams, while the girls did not have enough to log a team score.

Four of Carroll’s boys finished in a row: Freshman Guillermo Cruz in 19th with 20:45.8, senior Michael Burns in 20th with 21:01.9, sophomore Austin Crank in 21st with 21:12.6 and senior Cody Cruz in 22nd with 21:26.1. Junior Avery Franklin finished in 25th with 21:58 and junior Taylor Schirmer finished in 32nd with 24:05.3.

Senior Sierra Martinez finished in 14th for the girls with a time of 26:15.1. Freshman Jenna Richmond came in 20th with 27:15.2, while freshman Mallory Wilkerson came in 29th with 29:42.3.