Soccer realignment official, will go into effect next season

-A A +A
By Kristin Beck

Beginning with the 2012 season, regional alignments for boys’ and girls’ soccer will resemble those of the other sanctioned team sports in a measure approved at the meeting of the KHSAA Board of Control Jan. 25.

For Carroll County, this means a more level playing field for district play.

Carroll is now a part of the new Region 8 District 31 with Gallatin County, Henry County and Owen County. Previously, the Panthers were in District 16 with Martha Layne Collins, North Oldham, Oldham County, Shelby County, South Oldham and Spencer County.

In a December News-Democrat article on the possible changes, Carroll boys’ head coach Ben Crutcher and girls’ head coach Greg Damron both said the new alignment would be a positive change and would allow their teams to be more competitive in district matchups.

“This is an important step in the progression of soccer and one that will allow the sport to grow into a strong geographical alignment like the rest of the team sports,” KHSAA Assistant Commissioner Michael Barren said. “We hope the closer proximity of districts and regions will allow schools that may have been hesitant to add the sport to go ahead and do it now.”

The adopted alignment has 16 regions with district alignments based on feedback from the membership and discussion from the board of control.

“Though this alignment may appear somewhat non-traditional in that regions do not have uniform district sizes,” KHSAA Commissioner Julian Tackett said, “it will allow new schools to add the sport and increase our participants.”

The new soccer alignment is as follows:



District 1 - Ballard Memorial, Community Christian (Paducah), Heath, Lone Oak, Paducah Tilghman, Reidland, St. Mary

District 2 - Calloway County, Graves County, Marshall County, Mayfield, Murray


District 5 - Crittenden County, Lyon County, Trigg County

District 6 - Henderson County, Union County, Webster County

District 7 - Caldwell County, Dawson Springs, Hopkins County Central, Madisonville-North Hopkins

District 8 - Christian County, Fort Campbell, Hopkinsville, University Heights


District 9 - Apollo, Daviess County, Owensboro, Owensboro Catholic

District 10 - McLean County, Muhlenberg County, Ohio County,

District 11 - Breckinridge County, Meade County, Butler County, Grayson County


District 13 - Franklin-Simpson, Logan County, Russellville, Todd County Central

District 14 - Bowling Green, Greenwood, South Warren, Warren Central, Warren East

District 15 - Barren County, Glasgow, Monroe County, Clinton County


District 17 - Central Hardin, Elizabethtown, Fort Knox, John Hardin, North Hardin

District 18 - Hart County, LaRue County, Marion County, Taylor County

District 19 - Bardstown, Bethlehem, Nelson County, Thomas Nelson (2012), Washington County,


District 21 - Fairdale, Holy Cross (Louisville), Pleasure Ridge Park, Valley

District 22 – Butler, DeSales, Doss, Iroquois, Western,

District 23 - Bullitt Central, Evangel Christian, Moore, North Bullitt, Southern

District 24 - Bullitt East, Fern Creek, Jeffersontown, Mercy (Girls), Whitefield Academy,


District 25 - Central, DuPont Manual, Presentation (Girls), St. Francis

District 26 – Assumption (Girls), Brown, Louisville Collegiate, Male, St. Xavier (Boys)

District 27 - Atherton, Sacred Heart (Girls), Seneca, Trinity (Louisville) (Boys), Waggener

District 28 - Ballard, Christian Academy-Louisville, Eastern, Kentucky Country Day


District 29 - North Oldham, Oldham County, South Oldham,

District 30 - Anderson County, Collins, Shelby County, Spencer County

District 31 - Carroll County, Gallatin County, Henry County, Owen County

District 32 - Grant County, Simon Kenton, Walton-Verona


District 33 - Boone County, Conner, Cooper, Ryle

District 34 - Dixie Heights, Ludlow, St. Henry District, Villa Madonna

District 35 - Beechwood, Covington Catholic (Boys), Covington Latin, Holmes, Holy Cross (Covington), Notre Dame (Girls)

District 36 - Bellevue, Dayton, Highlands, Newport Central Catholic


District 37 - Bishop Brossart, Calvary Christian, Campbell County, Scott

District 38 - Harrison County, Pendleton County, Mason County, St. Patrick

District 39 - Bourbon County, George Rogers Clark, Montgomery County, Paris


District 41 - Frankfort, Franklin County, Western Hills, Woodford County

District 42 - Bryan Station, Henry Clay, Sayre, Scott County

District 43 - Lafayette, Lexington Catholic, Lexington Christian, Paul Laurence Dunbar, Tates Creek

District 44 - Berea, Madison Central, Madison Southern, Model


District 45 - Boyle County, Danville, Garrard County, Kentucky School f/t Deaf, Lincoln County

District 46 - Burgin, East Jessamine, Mercer County, West Jessamine

District 47 - Pulaski County, Somerset, McCreary Central

District 48 - Monticello, Southwestern, Wayne County


District 49 – North Laurel, Corbin, South Laurel, Whitley County

District 50 – Oneida Baptist, Bell County, Middlesboro


District 53 – Letcher County Central, Buckhorn, Hazard, Perry County Central

District 54 - Jackson City, Wolfe County, Estill County


District 57 – Johnson Central, Lawrence County, Paintsville, Prestonsburg, Sheldon Clark

District 58 – Belfry, Pike County Central, Pikeville, Shelby Valley


District 61 – Bath County, Fleming County, Menifee County, Rowan County

District 62 – East Carter, Elliott County, Greenup County, West Carter

District 63 – Ashland Blazer, Boyd County, Russell, Rose Hill