-A A +A

Incumbents win in 2010 Primary Election

By Phyllis McLaughlin

The Trimble Banner


Change, apparently, was not the will of Trimble County voters in the 2010 Primary Election on Tuesday, May 18.

The final tally by County Clerk Jerry Powell showed Randy K. Stevens retaining his seat by nearly 340 votes, with 1,464 votes to challenger Scott Burrows’ 1,122 votes.

The sheriff’s race, as expected, was closest between incumbent Tim Coons and challenger Chip Perry, but Coons maintained a 354-vote lead over Perry. Coons took 1,315 votes; Perry, 961; Richey Dunlap, 209; and Paul Poe, 127.

In the jailer’s race, Bobby Temple held on with a margin of 460 votes, winning with 1,514 to Michael Stewart’s 1,054 votes.

District 1 Magistrate Nolan Hamilton Jr. beat challenger Chris Liter, 383 to 334.

In District 2 Magistrate Kirby Melvin won with 236 votes, ahead of challengers Elizabeth “Betty” Bray (153 votes) and Kerry Callis (211 votes).

District 3 Magistrate David Scott also stayed ahead of his two challengers. Scott won with 315 votes; Norvel Barnes came in second with 245 votes and newcomer Debbie Crawford took 159 votes. District 4 Magistrate Stephen Stark also retains his seat on Fiscal Court, with 324 votes to Don McCarty’s 236 votes.

Powell said 2,946 voters went to the polls, nearly 50 percent of the county’s registered voters.