-A A +A

Incumbent Sheriff Ben Smith defeated in five-way contest

By The Staff

Carrollton police officer Jamie Kinman, a former deputy sheriff, defeated incumbent Ben Smith Tuesday in a five-way race for the Democratic nomination for Carroll County Sheriff.

Incumbent David Wilhoite overwhelmingly won the party’s nomination for county coroner in a race with two former deputy coroners, while voters gave their nod again to incumbent Floyd Bowling in the only contested magistrate’s race in District 1.

Both candidates appear to face smooth sailing to election in the fall because there is no opposition to Democratic winners from Republicans in Carroll County.

Preliminary vote totals from the county clerk’s office in the sheriff’s race show that Kinman captured 1,191 votes to Smith’s 837. James “J.T.” Shaw received 480 votes, while Jim Hamilton and Eddie Mefford both received 282 votes.

In an interview Tuesday night, Kinman said he is “very excited, very pleased” with the results of Tuesday’s vote. Kinman pointed to his door-to-door campaign as an excellent way to reach voters, adding that support from family and friends was a great help.

“I thank everybody for their help and support,” Kinman said. “I will do the best I can as Sheriff of Carroll County.”

In the race for county coroner, Wilhoite garnered 2,461 votes to Charlie Webb’s 437 and Jamie Wainscott’s 142.

Asked about his receiving the large majority in the vote, Wilhoite said, “That’s a good sign of people’s support for the way we’ve been doing the job.”

Appointed after the death of long-time coroner Jimmy Dunn, Wilhoite won election to a partial term of office in a special election.

“I was real appreciative of the opportunity to be appointed two years ago, and now I’m real pleased to be able to keep the office after this vote,” he said. “I really appreciate all of the people who supported me.”

Bowling won the Democratic primary for District 1 Magistrate with 689 votes, holding off a challenge from former magistrate John Proctor, who received 344.

There were contests in all three constable races.

In District 1, incumbent Jimmy Aaron won the party’s nomination with 719 votes. Opponent Gary “Tic” Kindoll received 224 votes, while Alan Woosley got 74.

In District 2, David Miles defeated incumbent Glenn Chatham for constable in a six-way race.

Miles garnered 385 to Chatham’s 289. Opponents Chris Reese received 136, while David Wilkerson picked up 51, Marty Gividen garnered 49 and Roy McAllister won 16.

In the race with the largest field of candidates, incumbent Chris Crase won the party nomination with 365 in the 10-way contest. Others in the race received the following number of votes: Ronnie Walker, 177; Chris Brock, 167; Bryan Crawford, 101; Eddie Hewitt, 92; Bruce Westrick, 65; Joshua Glacken, 55; James Thomas, 19; Greg England, 16; Chad Lowrance, 12.