The Food and Drug Administration recently finalized the definition of the term “gluten-free” on food labels. All manufacturers that want to use the gluten-free wording on their products must adhere to strict guidelines.
According to the FDA, the term gluten-free now refers to foods that are either inherently gluten-free or foods that do not contain any ingredient that is:
• A gluten-containing grain (e.g., spelt or wheat)
• Derived from a gluten-containing grain that has not been processed to remove gluten (e.g., wheat flour)