Deadline passes to file for county election

-A A +A

Four file for judge-executive; seven file for sheriff

By Kristin Beck

Election 2018 will certainly be an interesting one, as multiple candidates file for county judge-executive, sheriff and all three magistrate districts. The deadline to file was 4 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 30, for county offices. Candidates interested in filing for city council or mayor have until Aug. 14, to file because it is a non-partisan race and will not appear on the May Primary ballot. Candidates will draw for ballot position at 2 p.m. Thursday, Feb. 1. If candidates cannot attend, they may send someone to draw for them or they may call the county clerk's office and have an office employee draw, Carroll County Clerk Alice Marsh said.

If anyone has moved since the last election, come to the county clerk's office to change the address by April 23, Marsh said. The Primary Election Day is Tuesday, May 22.

The following candidates have filed to run for office in the county elections:

County Judge-Executive

Jennifer Beach (R)

Mark Ellis (D)

Harold “Shorty” Tomlinson (D)

Bobby Lee Westrick (D)

County Attorney

Nicholas A. Marsh (D)

PVA Administrator

Rob Robertson (D)


Glenn Chatham (D)

Harold "Tinks" Dews (D)

Ronald Wayne Dickow (D)

Ryan Gosser (D)

Rodney Hawkins (R)

J.T. Shaw (D)

Michael A. Walls (D)

Circuit Clerk

Gloria Belcher (D)

R. Todd Yocum (D)


Thomas R. Evens Jr. (R)

Ron Holloway (D)

John Proctor (D)

Scott Rose (D)

Jesse Saggus (D) 

Carroll County Coroner

David Wilhoite (D)

Carroll County Clerk

Alice W. Marsh (D)

Magistrate District 1

Floyd Bowling (D)

Benjamin "Benji" Long (R)

Clyde Rowlett (D)

Gerda Ford Wise (D)

Magistrate District 2

Clay Cable (D)

Kerry Graham (D)

Cody Hembree (R)

Magistrate District 3

Mark Bates (D)

Mona Kindoll (D)

Damon Lewis (R)

Bobby Snow Sr. (D)

Constable District 1

Jimmy R. Burgin (D)

Cody Human (D)

Craig Lacefield (D)

David H. Maiden (D)

Aaron Marsh (D)

Chris Reese (D)

Brian "Smurf" Taylor (D)

Constable District 2

Steve Abbott (D)

Norma Jean Miles (D)

Junior Smith (D)

Donald Whittaker (D)

Constable District 3

Joe Courtney (D)

James “Jimmy” Fox (D)

David Hendren (D)

Donald R. Hughes (D)

Roy McAllister (R)

Jimmy McEndre (D)

Jake Page (D)

Sam Proctor (D)