• Kathryn Winn renovation bids lower than expected; Last day of school set for June 1

    The Carroll County Board of Education voted to approve the renovation project for the Kathryn Winn Primary School.

    Senior project manager for Weir Construction Darrell Hayden said the bids for the project were opened March 14, coming in lower than projected. Hayden said all the alternatives would be included in the project.

    Weir Construction will serve as the construction manager for the district.

  • Let's Roll! Pinewood Derby held March 17
  • Christian Academy of Carrollton Honor Roll

    First Grade

    All A’s

    Jocelyn Boutwell, Shelby Miller, and John Vance.


    Madeline Black, Kinley Harsin, Nora Kaur, Adaya Noffsinger, Riley Poe, and Caleb Zuniga.

    Perfect Attendance

    Madeline Black, Macy Blevins, Kinley Harsin, Jacob Marcelino, Adaya Noffsinger, Riley Poe, and Joseph Ward IV.

    Second Grade

    All A’s

    Audrey Carli, Janelle Hernandez, Gregory Humphrey, Addison Kazee, Chaylon Lowrance, Mackenzie Owens, Autumn Shea, Brooklyn Shea, and Brooklyn Young.


  • School Menu | March 29, 2018

    Thursday, March 29: Breakfast: French toast sticks with syrup and yogurt or banana bread with yogurt or Pop Tarts and apple; Lunch: Penne pasta with meat sauce or chicken alfredo, breadstick, steamed broccoli, steamed carrots, Mandarin oranges, or pineapple.

    Friday, March 30: Breakfast: Donut or Pop Tarts and banana; Lunch: Chicken drumstick with roll, mashed potatoes, pinto beans, banana or Craisins.

    Monday, April 2-6 Spring Break, no school


    The Carroll County High School drama club presented “The Outsiders,” a play based on the book of the same title by S. E. Hinton, March 23-25.

    The story is based in Tulsa, Okla., in 1965 and tells the story of two groups separated by social-economic status.

    The book is required reading for CCHS freshman students.

    The play was directed by CCHS teacher Alissa Vogelgesang.

  • Teacher Spotlight: Harper finds her home in the middle


    Carroll County Schools

    Maggie Harper’s choices were Cincinnati, Louisville or Carrollton. She chose Carrollton. A sixth-grade social studies teacher at Carroll County Middle School, Harper is in her second year of teaching.

    “Maggie quickly became someone we rely on,” Principal Dana Oak said. “She is a great team player and a great teacher. Our students are lucky to have her.”

  • Carroll County High School February Students of the Month

    Students of the Month were nominated by their teachers and exemplified one or more of the following characteristics during the month of February: leadership, citizenship, responsibility, positivity, respect and academic achievement.

  • School Menu | March 22, 2018

    Thursday, March 22: Breakfast: Dutch waffle with yogurt or banana bread with yogurt or Pop Tarts and apple; Lunch: Chicken and waffles or scrambled egg and waffles, syrup, potato wedges, steamed broccoli, pear halves or orange.

    Friday, March 23: Breakfast: cinnamon roll or Pop Tarts and banana; Lunch: Roast beef and gravy with roll or grilled cheese, mashed potatoes, green beans, banana or fruit sorbet.

  • Legislators talk pensions with Carroll County educators

    Teachers, educators and supporters of public education have lobbied and rallied in Frankfort the past few months, trying to secure as much money as possible for classrooms and pensions in this year’s biennial budget session.

    The most recent news from Frankfort made its way to Carroll County Friday as State Rep. Rick Rand, D-Bedford, and State Sen. Paul Hornback, R-Shelbyville, met with teachers to provide an update and answer questions from the audience.

  • German American Bank donates $50,000 to FRYSC


    Carroll County Schools

    With a combined $50,000 donation to the Carroll County School District’s Family Ties and Youth Services Center programs, German American Bank has changed the lives of hundreds of the county’s children. Bank executives presented the district’s Family Ties and Youth Services Center programs each with a $25,000 check on March 12.